Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

The Stylus continues award winning history

by Panagiotis Argitis
Thu, Apr 4th 2019 11:00 pm

Since it’s first publication in 1914, The Stylus has abided by the first amendment, promoting student-produced journalism in print and online. Our organization’s growth, assembly and forward innovation have been driven by our journalistic passion, individual excellence and classroom education.  

Most recently, The Stylus was represented in the Associated Collegiate Press (ACP), a division of the National Scholastic Press Association, which provides journalism education throughout the country along with connections to the field of professional journalism. Specifically, The Stylus entered ACP’s Best of the Midwest Convention comprised of over 250 collegiate news organizations and media outlets alike. 

The 2019 Best of the Midwest Convention was held in Minneapolis, Minnesota and stretched for a total period of three days from February 15 to 17. The event presented the participating organizations, who gathered from all parts of the country, with development sessions, keynote speakers including KARE 11 news journalist Jana Shortal and Minnesota Public Radio (MPR) reporter Riham Feshir, followed by educational demonstrations from StarTribune journalists. 

Separate from the scholarly sessions, the convention created the opportunity for the collegiate organizations to interact, share and network with one another. 

ACP promotes the recognition of student journalists. In relation to the association’s mission, the convention held an award competition, Best of Show Awards. The contest was made up of two categories, a general excellence category and an individual category, both of which The Stylus entered. 

Following the conclusion of the Best of the Midwest Convention, The Stylus earned ninth place in the Best of Show Award’s general excellence category for the best Four-year Newspaper Weekly with the submission of Vol. 14, Issue No. 2, published on February 13, 2019. 

For a second award, The Stylus and Sports Editor Carson Werner earned sixth place in the individual category for the best Single Page Design with the submission of Vol. 123, Issue No. 6, page 28, published on Oct. 10, 2018.

The ACP awards The Stylus received are product of a collective triumph rather than an individual effort. Similar to professional newsrooms of today, our organization strives for journalistic excellence as a combined force, one founded on trust and synergy. The Stylus’ success during the ACP convention is the result brought about the organization’s staff, readership and overall support group. 

We at The Stylus would like to express our gratitude and special thanks to our Advisor, Mary McCrank and former Editor-in-Chief, Breonnah Colón for their contributions, leadership and passion for journalism and our organization this academic year. We look forward to continuing to publish the best possible newspaper every single week.  

Photo of the Week

Taken by Vincent Croce:
Staff Photographer

Author List